RSS Feed

A word from the Big “C”

Posted on

So I was told that I should contribute to this blog for our family at some time, and since I have a little spare time…..well, I’ll give it a shot.

About me:  To start with the things you know; I’m happily married to my best friend(forever), have three amazing children who have made this season of my life a lot of fun. Now I say that because I have recently resigned my job to stay with the kids for the summer while I prepare for full-time college in the Fall. The course that has taken me to where I’m at now has been nothing short but a blessing and a result of following a path that 3 years ago I would never have seen.  Through prayer for some direction into what our family needs to grow and be sustainable, God has allowed opened doors in ways I could not have imagined.  The direction to go to college.  I had 13 years of life experience after high school before the decision to pursue a career change of nursing. From jobs like: restaurant manager, carpet cleaning, hardware salesman, truck driver, industrial maintenance, and the last a steamfitter, to a NURSE.  I’m still amazed that this in the future for me!

The idea of nursing had come from the experiences gained as a volunteer firefighter. from there the desire to help people led me to becoming a first responder with the local EMS. It seemed to be second nature, enough that someone suggested that I look into EMT as a career.  After asking Melissa, What if I….., she had already had similar thoughts and the path started. We prayed and discussed which direction I should take, EMT, Paramedic, Radiography Tech and Nurse. It seemed to both of us that all signs were pointing to me becoming a Nurse. Like every door is opening each step of the way. With the transition of starting college and finding success in grades and financial support, I was on my way to the biggest step of all….my acceptance into nursing school at a local Tech College. This marks the point to take that leap of faith and trust that everything will be okay.  So as I finish the summer semester with a few classes and hang with the kids this summer, I will get prepared for the next step.

Now I pray that the blessings that have gotten this far will take me to the end.  There is one blessing that I can never say enough about. My biggest supporter of all, Melissa.  This woman encourages me, strengthens me, loves me, and corrects me.   She has made more sacrifices than I could imagine and still is able to bring pure joy to this family.  As a mother, I’m her biggest fan.  She has focused our family to have a strong relationship with God, creating lasting memories and training our kids to one day be outstanding adults.  REALLY, what’s not to love about this girl.

I also have to thank my mom and dad. They have set the example that I would be honored to follow.  They love each other, their children and all of their grandchildren.  They have been great as parents and have always been there every time I needed a favor.  I could never pay them back what they have unselfishly given to Melissa and I.

For everyone who has inspired me through their friendship and to my family. Thank you. I have found that you don’t get where you are without some help along the way. Many influences in my life have brought me to understand that each person has shaped me in some way, even the negative experiences have allowed me to grow and I realize that at the end of the day I am proud of what I am, and what I got.

Thank you for reading and look forward to posting again soon.

Chris

About CaMpHoTeL

We are a family of 5 that loves saving money, loves each other and loves adventures. We are all about making lasting memories, all the while saving the moo-lah!

Leave a Reply

