RSS Feed

I want to share my secret with you!

Posted on

My secret – I love saving money for my family. 🙂 I get a thrill when I see “You’ve saved…” The higher the number, the more the thrill. Chris has even said sometimes he gets embarrassed when I talk about saving money to other people. How rude! 🙂 I just don’t want to keep it a secret and want other people to benefit. Yes, I can be very passionate when explaining it and the level of excitement in my voice increases the more I talk about it. I can’t help it – I LOVE saving money!

I tried couponing hardcore once but it was way to much of a time commitment. I have friends that are hardcore and do it well but I just don’t have the time. I still do coupons especially on non-food items but I don’t have a pantry overflowing with stock-piles of items. I use coupons to get the items that we need and sometimes a few extras when the deal is right.

My latest couponing adventure was this Friday and I scored at Target. Did I come out spending less than $10? No, I told you I wasn’t a hard-core couponing queen but I still saved well over $50. It actually was more than that but Target doesn’t put on the receipt when an item is on sale how much you save from that. It only shows the coupons that you used. Most everything that I purchased was on sale and I had a coupon, sometimes 2 and even 3.

Target has a great coupon policy and I must let you all in on this secret, too. 🙂 You can use up to 3 coupons per item. Do what?!? That’s right, you can use a manufacturers coupon, a Target coupon and a new program they just started – a cartwheel coupon. Here is the link to this program: https://cartwheel-secure.target.com/ It is super easy to use! This was my first time using it but it won’t be my last.

I also use the app shopkick to earn gift cards to my favorite stores. I earned 50 points last night just by walking into Target. The more points you have, the higher the amount of the gift card. So far I have earned $15 worth of Target gift cards. Here is the link to this fabulous free app – http://get.shopkick.com/star8316

One of the best deals that I got – 2 boxes of 42 count Glad trashbags. They were on the clearance rack for $4.14, I had two coupons, so my total for these items was $6.53.The original cost for one box – $7.04. So I bought 2 boxes for less than the original cost of 1 box. I saved $7.47.

Another great deal that I got using multiple coupons. I bought 3 bottles of Dial 21 oz. bodywash for a grand total of $6.48. Normal price per bottle $4.99. So I saved $8.49. Yes, please!!

These are just 2 examples of the great deals that I got!

A few tips for saving money – buy on sale, use multiple coupons and have fun while doing it.

Now you all know my secret. I hope you all join me on the saving money train! 🙂

About CaMpHoTeL

We are a family of 5 that loves saving money, loves each other and loves adventures. We are all about making lasting memories, all the while saving the moo-lah!

2 responses »

  1. Denise Mattox

    I say it again.. YOU are the BEST shopper I know.. so smart..

    Reply
  2. Interesting about the new Target program. I’ll have to look into it and put it on my website. I’m starting a little couponing community and I’d love to see your success posted there. If you’re interested, visit my website and view the community tab. Thanks for the target info!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

