RSS Feed

Stress: It will either make you miserable or make you stronger. Your choice.

Posted on
Stress: It will either make you miserable or make you stronger. Your choice.

I choose the stronger route!

I try not to let things stress me out too much but sometimes those pesky “what if’s” start creeping in my mind. Or I start thinking about bills, or am I being a good enough wife, mother, Christian, friend, and on and on and on. I have learned in life that you are much happier if you focus on the positive in your life and let the negative fall by the wayside. Believe me I know that is easier said than done sometimes. But I don’t want to be labeled as a Negative Nancy or more fitting a Melancholy Melissa. 🙂

So yes, things will be tough sometimes, life won’t be fair, money won’t be there, but it’s how YOU choose to handle these things that set the tone for your life. I tell my kids all the time, “You can’t control how people behave but you can control your response.” Well, the same is true in life. You can’t always control how things go in your life but you can control how you react.

"Stress is not what happens to us. It's o...

“Stress is not what happens to us. It’s our response to what happens. And response is something we can choose at any moment.” (Photo credit: deeplifequotes)

Don’t let stress get the best of you. You be in charge of it, don’t let it be in charge of you.

When Chris and I decided for him to quit his job we had two routes we could have taken. 1. Stress over money, whine, cry, complain to others or 2. Pray and give it to God. We, of course, chose the 2nd route! We are trusting God to take care of it. We are trying to be good stewards of our money and continue to be frugal. Everything else, we give it to Him. So no, I don’t stress about it. I don’t lie in bed at night worrying about where the money will come from. I trust in God. He will take care of us, as He always has.

Proverbs-3-5-6

Proverbs 3:5-6

But even if you don’t believe in God as we do, you still can control your response to stress. You don’t have to let it suck everything out of you. You can choose to let it make you stronger! So instead of complaining, take control. We get one chance at life, why let stressors take our JOY!

I wish it was as simple as: “Go, be stress free.” But it’s not. We all worry, we all stress but we don’t have to let it control every part of our being. Life happens and sometimes, it’s just plain mean to us or so we think. Don’t let it get the best of you, let it make you STRONGER! My prayer for each person that happens upon this blog, is that you begin conquering stress, and focusing on the positives of life!

~

“Promise me you’ll always remember: You’re braver than you believe, and stronger than you seem, and smarter than you think.”
― A.A. Milne, Winnie-the-Pooh
About CaMpHoTeL

We are a family of 5 that loves saving money, loves each other and loves adventures. We are all about making lasting memories, all the while saving the moo-lah!

Leave a Reply

